Uncategorized

Why Wife, Then Mama?

  • I have been having trouble sleeping for awhile now.  Not like hardcore insomnia, just having a hard time shutting off and going to sleep.  And staying asleep past 8:30.  Stupid internal clock.

  • A few days ago I found out that I will receive a free sample of something to review on my blog (I am not going to tell what it is yet).  I also somehow qualified to do a giveaway of the product.  

Those two facts together gave me a thought.   Or rather the second fact gave me a thought, the first fact gave me lots of time to dwell on it.  I should grow my blog.  Giveaways are great at building recognition for a blog.  But “Bubbles” was very non-descript.  I can’t build a following without a premise.  So last night I thought up some names.

Some that I thought of were:
Joyful Mothering/Joyfully Mothering – based on the post about mothering not necessarily having to be done by mothers.  But I thought that was a little misleading, and didn’t really cover the infertility stuff.
Childless/Childfree Mother/Mothering – Kind of sounds more depressing than it is, like I have lost children.
Joyful Unmother – Sounds like I hate kids.
Mother-In-Waiting – Sounds like mother-in-law, or like a servant.

Finally I landed on Wife, Then Mama.  I was going to choose Wife, Then Mother, but Mama sounds sweeter.  I like it because it fits, it isn’t misleading, and it doesn’t sound depressing.  I am a wife, and I aspire to be a mother.  Someday when I have children I will still be a wife first, and a mother second.  I feel that it is very important to nurture your husband/wife relationship once you have kids, because in 18 years you don’t want to be sitting across the table from a stranger.  I feel like it allows me to talk about all the topics I already talk about, without straying to far from my theme.

Standard

Please remember to be respectful and kind in your commenting. Any disrespectful, unkind, or otherwise inappropriate comments will be deleted.

